History of Research Cell

In 1979, nearly 20 research projects funded by various funding agencies were running in the different departments of this institution. Back then, the grants were received either by the department itself or in the name of Principal King George's Medical College (KGMC). The accounts were maintained at the departmental level. Prof. K. P. Bhargava, the then Principal of KGMC, decided that the grants to be received in the name of Principal, KGMC, and be kept in his office to maintain the records (budgetary provisions, expenses, staff etc.) properly and increase the efficiency of the research in the institution. And, in October 1979 Research Cell was formed.

The King George's Medical College was upgraded to the Medical University by the Govt. of U.P. on 16th September 2002, and Research Cell was reorganized and updated. Dr. Shally Awasthi, Professor in Pediatrics, was appointed as the first Faculty In-charge of the Research Cell in September 2003. On 12th June 2014, Dr. Ravindra Kumar Garg, Professor & Head, Department of Neurology, was appointed as the Faculty In-charge of Research Cell. On 7th November 2020, Dr. Shally Awasthi, Professor & Head, Department of Pediatrics appointed as Faculty In-charge of Research Cell. With concerted efforts, day by day the activities of the research cell are getting improved. Many advanced steps are taken to provide a better research environment to the faculty and students of the institution. Some of them are research capacity-building activities of the medical/paramedical students and faculty, guiding PhD scholars to upgrade their work quality, involving them in academic activities, and minimizing their stressors.

Keeping in view the importance and significance of research in the Medical University Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor Lt. Gen. (Dr.) Bipin Puri upgraded the Research Cell to Department of Research & Development. The position of Faculty in Charge was upgraded by him to Dean by the order no. KGMU/VC/64/2021 dated 4th June 2021, and Prof. Shally Awasthi became the first Dean, Research & Development, KGMU.